Random Notes

New Espresso Machine

Posted by mfluch on August 6, 2009

My New GAGGIA Classic As my espresso machine by Krups got old (very old actually) I recently obtained a GAGGIA Classic on e-Bay. I got it for a cheap price but still in perfect working condition.

Only the plastic attachment of the steam wand was missing (it was meant to help to get a better milk foam). Since this made the steam wand too short for operation I looked on the Internet for a replacement part for it. I got lucky at HappyDonkey.co.uk. More precisely, they have a separate page for GAGGIA Classic spare parts. There then a Rancilio Sylvia steam wand caught my attention. It is simpler than the original GAGGIA solution but just looks like doing a better job. I ordered it, and a two days later I had the new steam wand. The photo below shows the new and the old steam wand in comparison. Click on the photo to find some notes on installing the new steam wand:

New and Old Steam Wand

What else: after one day of experimenting with the machine I finally got a very delicious result, espresso wise but also with the cappuccino. To use good and new (!) beans helps a lot here (I noticed that the beans I had still left from a long time since were expired about 2.5 years ago! … oops ;-) ). And the result is this:

Cappuccino

2 Responses to “New Espresso Machine”

  1. Eki said

    Nami :)

  2. mfluch said

    Yes, definitely! :-)

Leave a Reply

 
