Random Notes

How Long does it Take…?

Posted by mfluch on March 21, 2009

How Long does it Take...?
Today’s question: how long does it take to connect an electric toothbrush to the mains? Huh, is that even worth a question? You plug its cable into the nearest socket in the bathroom and this should take not more than a second or two. So what is the fuss about it?

Let me restate the question: how long does it take to connect an electric toothbrush to the mains in the UK? You plug its cable into the nearest socket … which socket?! Oh … Yes, Huston, we got a problem here. I live in a fairly modern hous (it was build about three years ago) … and in the bathroom there is just one single socket to connect an electronic device, and this socket is part of the lights above the mirror, and the socket does not even support a hair dryer! At most you can charge a hair cutter, an electric shaver or a electric toothbrush. But my appartment does not come with any suitable near enough to this socket to place my electric devices on. And as soon as I want to connect more than one device I am out of luck anyways.

So what I had to do extend the amount of proper sockets to a useful number. In the photo you can see where I attached an extension socket, namely to the georgeous energy wasting heating device of the bathroom (I basically never use it; who came even up with such a rediculous 2000 watt energy waster in a modern building?). Alltogether it took me about an hour to attache the additional cable in a proper and save way to the existing cablel. But now I have four sockets which will increase the usability of the bathroom a lot (amongst other I can now plug in my electric toothbrush nicely).

So, how long does it take to connect an electric toothbrush to the mains in the UK? About an hour if haven’t solved the electric socket problem beforehand. But why this is so I can only imagine: probably some ridiculous safety regulations prohibit the installation of usfull sockets in the bathrooms of UK houses. Why ridiculous? Becaus I have seen enough countries where they manage to savely install sockets in bathrooms without a noticable impact on the death rate in the population. If done properly sockets are not dangerous in bathrooms!

Leave a Reply

 
